Subscribe

INDUSTRY REPORTS · July 23, 2026

Impact-Resistant Shingles: Insurance Discounts by State (2026)

Impact-resistant shingles insurance discount by state: Texas mandates it, LA filings run 1% to 45.62%, and which Class 4 lines State Farm accepts.

By The Roofing Brief Team. Last reviewed: October 2026.

The insurance discount for impact-resistant shingles is set by each insurer, so its size depends less on the shingle and more on your carrier, your state’s legal regime and its hail history. The best-documented figures are Texas’s original 1998 mandatory schedule, which ran from 4% to 35% for a Class 4 roof depending on rating territory (TDI Commissioner’s Bulletin B-0024-98). Only a few states, led by Texas, require insurers to offer a discount at all. Everywhere else the credit is voluntary and set by the carrier. Louisiana is the only state whose regulator publishes every insurer’s approved figure: FORTIFIED discounts from 1% to 45.62% as of July 1, 2026. State Farm lists its roofing credit in 26 states and names each qualifying product line in a 35-page listing last revised October 1, 2026.

Will your roof earn an insurance discount? Decision table

Three facts decide it: the state’s legal regime, the exact product line, and how the roof was installed. Check each row that applies before you pick a shingle.

If your situation is What to expect Rule or threshold Source
Reroofing in Texas with a UL 2218 Class 4 product A roof-covering credit insurers must offer; each insurer sets the amount 1998 schedule: 4% to 35% for Class 4 by rating territory TDI Bulletin B-0024-98; TDI roofing-credit guidance
Alabama home with an IBHS FORTIFIED Roof certificate Required discount on the wind portion of the premium Ala. Code Title 27, Chapter 31D (2009); amount per insurer filing Alabama statute; ALDOI bulletins
Louisiana home with a FORTIFIED certificate Required, actuarially justified discount, mostly on wind and hail Approved filings 1% to 45.62% (July 1, 2026) LDI Act 533 report
Oklahoma home certified to FORTIFIED High Wind and Hail Wind and hail discount where the insurer finds it actuarially justified 36 O.S. 961 (new) and 962 (retrofit), from April 1, 2018 Oklahoma statutes
State Farm policy in one of its 26 listed states Credit only if the exact line is on the listing and bears the certification label Listing includes UL 2218 and FM 4473 Class 4 and some Class 3 lines State Farm Roofing Premium Credits Product Listing (Oct 1, 2026)
New shingles laid over an old roof No State Farm credit Overlays do not qualify, except certain metal roofs State Farm listing disclaimer
Metal roof with State Farm Credit requires a signed Cosmetic Damage Exclusion Metal is not eligible in Wyoming State Farm listing
Policy with a 2% wind/hail deductible on a $400,000 dwelling Discount does not change the deductible $8,000 out of pocket per hail claim either way Your declarations page
Pacific Coast or Northeast state Credit often not offered None of these states is on State Farm’s 26-state list State Farm discounts page

Key findings

  • Texas set the template. In 1998 the Texas Department of Insurance adopted mandatory roof-covering credits for UL 2218 impact-rated roofs, ranging from 4% to 35% for a Class 4 roof by rating territory (TDI Commissioner’s Bulletin B-0024-98). TDI‘s current guidance says the amount for each roof class is now set by each insurance company on a company-by-company basis. Before you accept a credit, read about the cosmetic damage exclusion that can come with a roof credit.
  • Three main legal regimes, not one. States fall into mandatory-offer (Texas, TDI Bulletin B-0024-98), regulated FORTIFIED-minimum (Alabama, Ala. Code Title 27 Ch. 31D; Louisiana, La. R.S. 22:1483), and purely voluntary carrier programs (most of the country). Oklahoma sits in between with a conditional FORTIFIED mandate under 36 O.S. 961 and 962.
  • Alabama regulates a minimum. Since 2009, Alabama law has required a premium discount for FORTIFIED roofs on the wind portion of the premium (Code of Alabama Title 27, Chapter 31D). The Alabama Department of Insurance has issued benchmark discount levels in bulletins that have changed over time, so check the current bulletin and your insurer’s filing for the amount.
  • The discount follows hail losses. The five states with the most hail claims (Texas, Colorado, Nebraska, Missouri, Kansas; National Insurance Crime Bureau counts for 2016 to 2018, released 2019) are all states where State Farm lists a roofing discount (State Farm homeowners discounts page).
  • Carriers rarely publish the percentage. State Farm lists a roofing discount in 26 states and names qualifying lines in a 35-page product listing (revised October 1, 2026), but states no percentage on its discounts page. We could not confirm other carriers’ percentages from their own published pages, so ask each carrier for its figure in writing.
  • The discount does not change your deductible. A Class 4 roof lowers ongoing premium; it does not shrink a separate percentage wind/hail deductible, so a 2% deductible on a $400,000 dwelling is still $8,000 per claim.

How the impact-resistant shingle discount actually works

A Class 4 impact-resistant roof earns a discount because it files fewer hail claims, so insurers price it lower. The discount reduces your annual premium by an amount each insurer sets for each class of roofing material, per TDI. It is applied when you install a qualifying roof and submit proof, then it recurs each renewal as long as the roof is documented.

What varies most is whether the state compels the offer. Texas made the credit mandatory in 1998, Alabama in 2009 and Oklahoma (for FORTIFIED homes) from April 1, 2018; in those states you can demand the credit, elsewhere you can only ask for it.

Regime What it means Example states Basis
Mandatory offer A state rule created a required roof-covering credit; per TDI, the amount for each impact class is now set company by company, and the homeowner still must qualify and document Texas TDI Bulletin B-0024-98 (1998); TDI roofing-credit guidance
Regulated FORTIFIED minimum State sets a required discount or benchmark tied to the IBHS FORTIFIED standard, usually on the wind or hurricane portion Alabama, Louisiana State statute/regulation
Conditional FORTIFIED mandate Insurers must offer a wind and hail premium discount for homes certified to the IBHS FORTIFIED Home High Wind and Hail standard, but only where the insurer finds it actuarially justified; Class 4 shingle credits are otherwise set by each carrier Oklahoma 36 O.S. 961 (new homes) and 962 (retrofits), Laws 2017, effective for discounts from April 1, 2018
Voluntary carrier program No state mandate; each carrier decides whether and how much to discount Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, most states Carrier filings

The FORTIFIED programs (Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi) reward a roof-plus-installation standard from the Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety, not just a shingle rating. That is why their credits attach to the wind or hurricane portion of the premium rather than the whole bill.

Impact-resistant shingle insurance discount by state (2026)

The table lists 13 representative states or state groups and flags whether the credit is mandated or voluntary. Only two published percentages survive verification: the 1998 Texas schedule (4% to 35%) and Louisiana’s approved FORTIFIED filings (1% to 45.62%); earlier state bands from carrier marketing and roofing sources were removed. Where a state regulator or statute publishes a figure, we show it; otherwise ask each carrier for its current credit in your ZIP.

State Class 4 or FORTIFIED discount amount Legal status Primary driver / source
Texas Set by each insurer today; the 1998 TDI mandatory schedule ran 4% to 35% for Class 4 by rating territory Mandatory offer Highest hail claims in U.S.; credit amount set by each insurer per TDI (TDI, 1998; NICB, 2016 to 2018 claims)
Alabama Required (wind portion, FORTIFIED); amount per insurer filing and ALDOI benchmark bulletins Regulated minimum Ala. Code Title 27 Ch. 31D (2009)
Louisiana Required (FORTIFIED); approved homeowners filings as of July 1, 2026 range from 1% to 45.62%, for example State Farm Fire and Casualty 19% to 39% and USAA 19% to 37%, applied by most insurers to the wind and hail portion Regulated (FORTIFIED) La. R.S. 22:1483; LDI Act 533 FORTIFIED discount report (2026)
Mississippi Varies by carrier or MWUA program (wind portion, FORTIFIED) Voluntary + MWUA endorsement Carrier/MWUA programs
Colorado Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Second-highest hail claims (NICB, 2016 to 2018 claims)
Oklahoma Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Conditional mandate (FORTIFIED); Class 4 credits voluntary 36 O.S. 961 and 962 require a FORTIFIED wind and hail discount where actuarially justified; Class 4 shingle credits come from carrier programs
Kansas Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Top-5 hail claims (NICB, 2016 to 2018 claims)
Nebraska Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Top-3 hail claims (NICB, 2016 to 2018 claims)
Missouri Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Top-4 hail claims (NICB, 2016 to 2018 claims)
Minnesota / Iowa / Dakotas Varies by carrier (no published range verified) Voluntary Northern hail belt; Minnesota ranked 4th in hail loss claims for 2017 to 2019 with 150,673 (NICB, April 2020); ask each carrier for its current credit
Illinois / Indiana Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Carrier programs
Tennessee / Georgia Set by each carrier; no statewide figure published Voluntary Carrier programs
Pacific Coast / Northeast Set by each carrier; often not offered Voluntary Low hail frequency; none of these states is on State Farm’s roofing-discount list

State Farm alone lists the roofing discount in 26 states on its State Farm homeowners discounts page, from Alabama and Arkansas to Wisconsin and Wyoming. If you are reroofing in Wisconsin, we rank certified roofers in La Crosse, Appleton, Oshkosh and Eau Claire. Arkansas homeowners shopping for an impact-resistant roof can compare the best roofers in Jonesboro.

Why the discount is bigger in some states

The discount is essentially priced off hail-claim frequency. Texas logged 811,381 hail loss claims from 2016 to 2018 and Colorado 395,025 (NICB), and both sit on State Farm’s 26-state discount list; in low-hail states the roof saves the insurer little and the credit shrinks toward zero or is not offered.

Claim counts make the pattern concrete. The National Insurance Crime Bureau ranking below covers hail loss claims from January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018, drawn from ISO ClaimSearch and including auto as well as property claims (NICB, August 6, 2019). NICB’s later ranking for 2017 to 2019 kept Texas and Colorado first and second, followed by Nebraska, Minnesota and Illinois (NICB, Top 5 States for Hail Claims: 2017-2019 Data). Severe convective storms, which include hail, caused about $51 billion in insured U.S. losses in 2025, the third straight year above $50 billion, according to the Insurance Information Institute (as reported by Carrier Management, April 16, 2026).

Rank State Hail loss claims, 2016 to 2018 (three-year total) Source
1 Texas 811,381 NICB ForeCAST report, 2016 to 2018
2 Colorado 395,025 NICB ForeCAST report, 2016 to 2018
3 Nebraska 163,336 NICB ForeCAST report, 2016 to 2018
4 Missouri 153,403 NICB ForeCAST report, 2016 to 2018
5 Kansas 146,206 NICB ForeCAST report, 2016 to 2018

Every state in that top five is on State Farm’s roofing-discount list. Texas, which logged the most claims (28 percent of the 2,891,291 national total over those three years, by our arithmetic), is also the state whose regulator first made the credit mandatory, in 1998 (NICB, 2019; TDI Bulletin B-0024-98). It is not the only state with a required discount: Alabama requires one for FORTIFIED roofs, as covered above. The overlap suggests carriers concentrate the credit where hail losses are heaviest, although few carriers publish the percentage. Texas owners pricing a Class 4 re-roof can start with our Texas roof replacement cost guide. Colorado ranked second in the NICB count. Our Colorado cost guide runs the Class 4 payback math for Colorado roofs.

Carrier-by-carrier discount ranges

Even within one state, the credit swings by carrier because each files its own rating plan: Louisiana’s approved FORTIFIED discounts run from 1% to 45.62%, with State Farm Fire and Casualty at 19% to 39% and USAA at 19% to 37% (LDI, July 1, 2026). The table shows what each carrier publishes about the credit on its own site; where we could not confirm a percentage from the carrier’s published pages, we say so rather than repeat figures from third-party roundups.

Carrier Published discount percentage Notes
State Farm No percentage published on its discounts page Lists the roofing discount in 26 states; product listing and certification form required
USAA Not confirmed from USAA’s published pages Ask for the credit in writing
Farmers Not confirmed from Farmers’ published pages Ask for the credit in writing
Allstate Not confirmed from Allstate’s published pages Ask for the credit in writing

The takeaway for shopping: in a state that requires a credit, the carrier may still set its size, and the Louisiana filings show a spread of more than 44 percentage points between the lowest and highest approved discounts. Ask each carrier for the exact Class 4 credit in your ZIP, in writing, before you switch.

What actually qualifies: UL 2218 vs FM 4473

To earn any discount, the roof must carry a Class 4 rating under UL 2218 or FM 4473, the two recognized impact-resistance standards. Both assign Class 1 through Class 4; Class 4 is the highest and the rating most discount programs target, although State Farm’s listing also includes some Class 3 lines. The two tests differ in how they simulate hail.

Standard Published by Projectile Class 4 test Pass criterion
UL 2218 Underwriters Laboratories Steel ball dropped from set height 2-inch steel ball from 20 feet No crack or split through the shingle; cosmetic dents allowed
FM 4473 FM Approvals Ice ball fired by air cannon Up to 2-inch ice ball, 1.25 to 2 inch range Same Class 1 to 4 scale; no through-crack

UL 2218 is the more commonly cited standard on shingle spec sheets. FM 4473 launches ice balls to mimic real hail behavior more closely, but for discount purposes carriers generally accept a Class 4 rating under either. The rating certifies the shingle in a lab; it does not guarantee a specific roof survives a specific storm.

Which shingles qualify for the insurance discount? Class 4 lines by maker

A brand’s flagship line is often not its Class 4 line. On the State Farm Roofing Premium Credits Product Listing (revised October 1, 2026), GAF Timberline HDZ, Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration and CertainTeed Landmark appear as UL 2218 Class 3, while each maker’s impact-resistant line is Class 4. Match the exact line name, and for GAF Timberline UHDZ the plant, before you sign.

Maker Asphalt lines listed as Class 4 Popular lines listed as Class 3 only Source
GAF Timberline AS II, Timberline ArmorShield II, Grand Sequoia AS, Camelot II, Slateline, Woodland; Timberline UHDZ from the Tuscaloosa, Shafter, Michigan City and Myerstown plants Timberline HDZ, Timberline Ultra HDZ, Timberline UHDZ (Tampa plant) State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration Storm, TruDefinition Duration FLEX, TruDefinition WeatherGuard HP, Woodcrest, Woodmoor TruDefinition Duration, Duration Designer, Duration Max State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
CertainTeed Landmark ClimateFlex, Landmark TL, NorthGate ClimateFlex, Belmont IR, Presidential Shake IR, Grand Manor, Carriage House Landmark, Landmark Pro, Belmont, Highland Slate State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
IKO Nordic (formerly Cambridge IR), UltraHP IR Cambridge, Dynasty State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
Malarkey Legacy, Windsor, Vista (Class 4 version), Dura-Seal Highlander NEX State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
TAMKO StormFighter Flex 4, Heritage IR, HailGuard Titan XT, StormFighter Flex 3 State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026
Atlas StormMaster ST, StormMaster Shake, Pinnacle Impact Pinnacle Pristine, ProLam State Farm listing, Oct 1, 2026

State Farm’s listing says only products bearing the proper certification label qualify and that other qualified products may exist, so ask your agent before you buy a line that is not named. Other carriers do not publish an equivalent list.

Discount eligibility: State Farm vs Nationwide

Eligibility turns on the exact product, how it was installed, and the paperwork, not just a Class 4 label: the State Farm listing names lines by manufacturer and test standard (ANSI/UL 2218 or FM 4473). State Farm publishes a qualifying-products list, a certification form and an overlay exclusion. Nationwide’s homeowners discounts page lists a broader “roof rating” credit based on the roof’s age and surface type, with no published impact-class rule, so ask the agent how a Class 4 roof is rated in your state.

The table compares what each carrier states publicly. State Farm’s rules come from its homeowners discounts page and its Roofing Premium Credits Product Listing (last revised October 1, 2026). Nationwide’s come from its homeowners insurance discounts page.

Eligibility question State Farm (published) Nationwide (published)
What earns the credit Certain impact-resistant roofing products, such as Class 4 shingles “Roof rating”: savings based on the roof’s age and surface type
Where it applies 26 listed states, from Alabama to Wyoming No state list on the page; Nationwide notes terms may vary by state
Product rule The product must appear on the listing, which names products by manufacturer (mostly ANSI/UL 2218 Class 4, some ANSI/FM 4473) and must bear the proper certification label Not stated on the discounts page
Paperwork Roof Installation Information and Certification Form Not stated on the discounts page
Roof-over (overlay) jobs Not eligible, except certain qualifying metal roofs Not stated on the discounts page
Metal roofs Signed Cosmetic Damage Exclusion required; metal is not eligible in Wyoming Not stated on the discounts page

The practical difference: with State Farm you can check eligibility before you buy by matching the exact product name to the listing. A premium shingle line is not automatically on it, because a “50-year” label is a warranty tier, not an impact rating, as our explainer on what a 50-year shingle rating really means shows. With Nationwide, ask the agent before the roof goes on whether a Class 4 product changes your roof rating and what proof they need, and keep the answer in writing. At State Farm, a roof laid over an old one does not qualify unless it is a qualifying metal roof, so price a full tear-off if the credit matters to you.

How to claim the discount: documentation checklist

Carriers will not apply the credit automatically. At State Farm the proof is the Roof Installation Information and Certification Form plus a product on the October 1, 2026 listing; other carriers ask for similar documents.

  1. Get the manufacturer certificate. Obtain the product data sheet or certificate showing the shingle’s UL 2218 (or FM 4473) Class 4 rating by name and product line.
  2. Keep the paid invoice. Save the roofing contractor’s paid invoice and a certificate of completion identifying the exact product installed.
  3. Submit both to your carrier or agent. Send the rating certificate plus proof of installation; State Farm also asks for its Roof Installation Information and Certification Form, and some carriers request photos.
  4. Confirm the credit on your declarations page. Check the next renewal’s declarations to verify the discount is applied and correct.
  5. Re-document after any roof change. If you replace or repair the roof, resubmit paperwork so the credit is not dropped at renewal.

The catch most guides skip: your deductible does not shrink

The Class 4 discount lowers your premium, not your claim payout. Many policies in hail-prone states carry a separate wind/hail deductible set as a percentage of dwelling value, and it still applies in full when you file a hail claim: on a $400,000 dwelling, a 2% wind/hail deductible is $8,000 out of pocket per claim regardless of the discount. The premium credit and the deductible are two different levers: the discount saves money every year, while a Class 4 roof’s real payoff on a claim is that it is far less likely to need one. Weigh both when you compare a Class 4 roof to a standard roof, and read which roof types insurers reward before you buy.

Methodology and limits

This report synthesizes public sources: state insurance-department rules and statutes (Texas Department of Insurance 1998 hail-resistant roof rule; Code of Alabama Title 27 Chapter 31D; La. R.S. 22:1483 and the Louisiana Department of Insurance Act 533 FORTIFIED discount report (2026); Oklahoma 36 O.S. 961 and 962), the UL 2218 and FM 4473 impact standards, National Insurance Crime Bureau hail-claim counts for 2016 to 2018 (released 2019), and carriers’ own published discount pages. We removed state and carrier percentage bands that we could not tie to a filed rate table, a regulator publication or the carrier’s own page; the only percentages kept are the 1998 TDI schedule and the Louisiana insurer filings listed in the LDI report. Actual credits vary by carrier, ZIP-level hail territory, roof, and policy, and legal mandates change. Verify any figure against your own carrier’s current filing and your state insurance department before relying on it. Nothing here is insurance advice.

For related analysis, see our reports on insurance non-renewal by roof age, how much an IBHS FORTIFIED Roof costs, the gable vs hip roof insurance math, and how to identify hail damage on shingles.

Frequently asked questions

Which states require insurers to give an impact-resistant roof discount?

Texas is the clearest example: the Texas Department of Insurance made a roof-covering credit for UL 2218 impact-rated roofs mandatory in 1998 (Commissioner’s Bulletin B-0024-98), and TDI’s current guidance says each insurer sets the amount for each roof class. Alabama requires a discount for FORTIFIED roofs under Title 27 Chapter 31D, and Louisiana requires admitted insurers to provide an actuarially justified FORTIFIED discount under La. R.S. 22:1483 (approved filings ranged from 1% to 45.62% as of July 1, 2026, per the Louisiana Department of Insurance). Oklahoma requires insurers to offer a wind and hail discount for FORTIFIED-certified new or retrofitted homes, but only where the insurer finds it actuarially justified (36 O.S. 961 and 962). In most other states the discount is voluntary and set by each carrier, so it may or may not be available.

How much can a Class 4 shingle roof save on insurance?

It depends on your carrier and state, because each insurer sets the amount for each roof class (Texas Department of Insurance). For reference, the original 1998 Texas mandatory schedule gave a Class 4 roof 4% to 35% off the basic premium depending on rating territory (TDI Bulletin B-0024-98). Low-hail coastal and northeastern states may offer little or nothing. FORTIFIED programs in Alabama and Mississippi discount the wind portion of the premium. Ask your carrier for its current figure in writing.

Which shingles qualify for State Farm’s impact-resistant roof discount?

Only lines named on State Farm’s Roofing Premium Credits Product Listing (revised October 1, 2026) that bear the certification label. Class 4 asphalt examples include GAF Timberline AS II, Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration Storm and FLEX, CertainTeed Landmark ClimateFlex, IKO Nordic, Malarkey Legacy and TAMKO StormFighter Flex 4. GAF Timberline HDZ and Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration are listed as Class 3.

What documentation do I need to get the discount?

You generally need a manufacturer certificate showing the shingle’s UL 2218 or FM 4473 Class 4 rating, plus a paid invoice or roofing certificate of completion confirming the exact product installed. Submit both to your carrier or agent, then check your next declarations page to confirm the credit posted. Some carriers also request photos or a specific roofing certificate form.

Does a Class 4 roof lower my hurricane or hail deductible?

No. The discount reduces your ongoing premium, not a separate percentage wind/hail deductible, which still applies to any claim if your policy has one. On a $400,000 home, a 2% deductible would be $8,000 per claim regardless of the discount. The roof’s added value is that it is less likely to generate a claim at all.

What is the difference between UL 2218 and FM 4473?

Both rate roof impact resistance on a Class 1 to 4 scale, with Class 4 the highest. UL 2218 drops a 2-inch steel ball from 20 feet; FM 4473 fires ice balls up to 2 inches from an air cannon to more closely mimic hail. A shingle passes Class 4 if it shows no crack or split through the material. Most carriers accept a Class 4 rating under either standard for the discount.

Is a Class 4 roof worth it if my state has no mandated discount?

It can be, but the math changes. Without a mandate like Texas’s 1998 rule (4% to 35% for Class 4), you depend on a voluntary carrier credit that may be small or unavailable, so the payback comes more from reduced claim frequency and longer roof life than from premium savings. In a frequent-hail state the combined discount and durability often justify the upgrade; in a low-hail region the premium savings alone rarely do.