Subscribe

MATERIALS · October 29, 2026

Metal Roofing Coil: Sizes, Gauges, Feet per Coil and 2026 Prices

Metal roofing coil for roll formers: 16 to 24 in widths, 22 to 26 gauge, feet per coil by weight, AZ50 vs G90, PVDF vs SMP and Oct 2026 prices.

Metal Roofing Coil: Sizes, Gauges, Feet per Coil and 2026 Prices

By The Roofing Brief Team. Last reviewed: October 2026. Coil widths, gauges and weights come from supplier cut sheets and data pages (Sheffield Metals, Berridge, Drexel Metals, Western States Metal Roofing, New Tech Machinery); prices are public listings seen in October 2026 and a mill price sheet effective July 4, 2026, each linked where it is used.

Metal roofing coil is flat painted or bare steel (or aluminum) wound into a roll that a roll former turns into standing seam or exposed fastener panels, and for residential standing seam it is usually 24 gauge Galvalume slit to 16, 20, 22 or 24 inches wide. A 20 inch, 24 gauge coil weighs about 1.63 lb per lineal foot, so a 1,000 ft coil is roughly 1,630 lb and about 1,667 sq ft of metal. In October 2026, 1,000 ft coils of 24 gauge painted steel were listed at $3,080 to $3,330 on the Arbor marketplace, about $1.77 to $2.00 per square foot of coil.

Coil is bought by the square foot or by the pound, not by the finished panel. The coil width is wider than the panel it makes: Sheffield Metals’ 1.5 inch mechanical seam cut sheet turns a 20 inch coil into a 16 inch panel, so a 1,000 sq ft roof needs 1,250 sq ft of coil before waste. That ratio, the gauge multiplier and the paint warranty terms are where most coil orders go wrong.

Metal roofing coil key numbers at a glance

These are the figures a contractor or owner-builder looks up first when buying metal roofing coil for a portable roll former. Each row is from the named supplier document or listing; prices are public listings in October 2026 and can change without notice.

Item Typical figure Source
Standard coil widths for standing seam and snap lock 16, 20, 22 and 24 in Drexel Metals chart (metalmag); Sheffield Metals
Gauges stocked for standing seam 22, 24 and 26 ga steel; .032 to .063 in aluminum Sheffield Metals coil page
Minimum thickness, 24 ga / 26 ga 0.023 in / 0.018 in Sheffield Metals (Feb 2, 2023)
Weight multiplier, 24 / 26 / 29 ga 0.9791 / 0.7818 / 0.6120 lb per sq ft Drexel Metals chart
Weight of a 20 in, 24 ga coil About 1.63 to 1.67 lb per lineal ft Drexel multiplier; Western States Metal Roofing (1.67)
Standard coil length 1,000 to 1,500 lineal ft Western States Metal Roofing
Listed price, 24 ga painted coil $1.77 to $2.00 per sq ft of coil (1,000 ft rolls); $1.87 per sq ft at Schafer Arbor; Schafer Metal (Oct 2026)
Coil to panel multiplier 1.18 (17 in panel) to 1.36 (14.75 in panel) from a 20 in coil Sheffield Metals cut sheets

What is a roofing coil?

A roofing coil is a continuous strip of metallic-coated, usually prepainted sheet wound around a hollow core, sold so the buyer can roll-form panels to any length on site. Mills produce wide “master” coils: Big River Steel in Osceola, Arkansas, ships Galvalume on a 20 or 24 inch inside diameter and prices master coils of 20,000 lb or more at its base rate. Distributors then paint and slit those masters into narrow coils for roofing.

Narrow prepainted steel roofing coils standing eye to the sky on pallets in a metal supply warehouse
Distributors slit painted master coils 40 to 48 inches wide into 16, 20, 22 and 24 inch coils for portable roll formers, per Sheffield Metals.

Sheffield Metals slits from 40, 44 and 48 inch master coils into finished widths of 16, 20, 22 and 24 inches, and Berridge Manufacturing slits its 24 gauge Galvalume from 42 or 48 inch masters. Wide 40 to 48 inch coil feeds exposed fastener machines; Drexel Metals lists 40.875 and 41.562 inches as the standard widths for agricultural R-panel. Narrow coil is what a portable standing seam machine runs.

Coil type Typical width Typical weight Who buys it Source
Mill master coil (Galvalume) 36 to 60 in 20,000 lb and up at base price Painters and slitters Big River Steel price sheet, eff. 7/4/2026
Painted master coil 40, 44, 48 in Not published Slitters, panel plants Sheffield Metals coil page
Slit coil for standing seam 16, 20, 22, 24 in About 1,300 to 2,940 lb at 1,000 to 1,500 ft (24 ga) Contractors with portable roll formers Sheffield; Western States; Roofing Brief arithmetic from Drexel multiplier
Wide coil for R-panel or flat sheet 40.875, 41.562, 48 in Varies by length Panel plants, sheet shops Drexel Metals chart; Western States
Narrow slit coil Under 16 in (Sheffield “narrow” filter) Not published Trim and flashing shops Sheffield clearance inventory filters

Metal roofing coil sizes: which coil width makes which panel?

Coil width minus the seams and legs equals the panel coverage, and the supplier cut sheet states the pairing. Sheffield’s 1.0 inch mechanical seam makes a 17 inch panel from a 20 inch coil, its 1.5 inch mechanical seam makes 16 inches from 20, and its 1.5 inch FF SnapLock makes 14.75 inches from 20 and tells buyers to multiply roof area by 1.36. Divide coil width by panel width to get the roof multiplier.

Profile (maker) Seam height Panel width Coil width Roof multiplier Gauge Source
SMI 1.0″ Mechanical Seam (Sheffield) 1.0 in 17 in 20 in (max 20 in for engineered systems) 1.18 22 to 24 ga min Sheffield cut sheet 0923
SMI 1.5″ Mechanical Seam (Sheffield) 1.5 in 16 in 20 in (max 20 in) 1.25 22 to 24 ga min, .032 to .040 aluminum Sheffield cut sheet 0425
SMI 1.5″ FF SnapLock (Sheffield) 1.5 in 14.75 in 20 in 1.36 (stated) 22 to 24 ga min Sheffield cut sheet
Berridge nominal 16 in coil Per profile Per profile 15 7/8 in actual Width per profile 24 ga std, 22 ga optional Berridge coil page
Berridge nominal 21 in coil Per profile Per profile 20 7/8 in actual Width per profile 24 ga std, 22 ga optional Berridge coil page
Berridge nominal 24 in coil Per profile Per profile 23 7/8 in actual Width per profile 24 ga std, 22 ga optional Berridge coil page

Check the machine range as well as the profile. New Tech Machinery’s SSQ II MultiPro accepts 15 to 30 inch coil, makes 12 to 24 inch panels, and runs 28 to 22 gauge steel with a 50 ksi maximum yield strength for 24 to 22 gauge. NTM’s product page also states that the SSQ II was discontinued September 30, 2026, and Sheffield Metals reports the SSQ3 as its successor, so confirm the range for the machine you own. For panel coverage by profile, see our metal roof panel widths and coverage guide.

Coil gauge and thickness: 22, 24, 26 and 29 gauge

Gauge is a nominal label, so buy coil by minimum thickness in inches. Sheffield Metals gives 24 gauge as a minimum of 0.023 inch and 26 gauge as a minimum of 0.018 inch, and Schafer Metal lists its 24 gauge coil at a “minimum .023 thickness to comply with 24ga AISI standards.” Sheffield’s standing seam cut sheets call for 24 gauge minimum, with 22 gauge as the heavier option.

Gauge Minimum thickness Weight multiplier (lb per sq ft) lb per lineal ft, 20 in coil lb per lineal ft, 24 in coil Typical coil use Source
22 ga Thicker than 24 ga; confirm on mill cert Not in Drexel chart Not calculated Not calculated Optional upgrade on Sheffield and Berridge standing seam Sheffield cut sheets; Berridge
24 ga 0.023 in 0.9791 1.63 1.96 Standing seam minimum on engineered SMI profiles Sheffield; Drexel
26 ga 0.018 in 0.7818 1.30 1.56 Exposed fastener and some snap lock; Sheffield stocks 27.5 in Sheffield; Drexel
29 ga Not published by these sources 0.6120 1.02 1.22 Agricultural and corrugated panel coil Drexel; Sheffield (29 ga for agricultural)

The lb per lineal foot columns are Roofing Brief arithmetic: multiplier times coil width in feet. They match Western States Metal Roofing, which lists 24 gauge coil at about 1.67 lb per lineal foot at 20 inches, 2 lb at 24 inches and 4 lb at 48 inches. For the panel side of the gauge question, see our 26 vs 29 gauge metal roofing comparison.

Galvalume AZ50 vs AZ55 vs G90 galvanized coil

The metallic coating number is the minimum triple-spot average for both sides in ounces per square foot, per the U.S. Steel ASTM coating weight bulletin (TSB 4.1) that McElroy Metal publishes. AZ50 Galvalume (ASTM A792) is 0.50 oz per sq ft, about 1.60 mils total; AZ55 is 0.55 oz, about 1.76 mils; G90 galvanized (ASTM A653) is 0.90 oz, about 1.53 mils.

Coating ASTM spec Min. coating, both sides Approx. total thickness Usual coil use Mill extra, 24 ga range, 48 to 60 in (Big River, per CWT) Source
AZ50 Galvalume A792 0.50 oz/sq ft 1.60 mils Substrate under PVDF or SMP paint (Drexel AZ50 “to be painted”) $13.50 coating + $1.50 width/thickness U.S. Steel TSB 4.1; Big River Steel; NTM review
AZ55 Galvalume A792 0.55 oz/sq ft 1.76 mils Bare, acrylic-coated coil (Drexel Drexlume AZ55) $15.00 coating + $1.50; clear acrylic +$1.50 U.S. Steel TSB 4.1; Big River Steel
G90 galvanized A653 0.90 oz/sq ft 1.53 mils Painted coil from some coaters (Coated Metals Group stocks G90 and AZ50) Not comparable (separate galvanized sheet) U.S. Steel TSB 4.1; NTM review
G60 galvanized A653 0.60 oz/sq ft 1.02 mils Lighter coating; NB Handy lists G60 and G90 Not comparable U.S. Steel TSB 4.1; NTM review

The same bulletin says a G90 coating lasts about 50 percent longer than G60 in the same environment, because zinc protection scales with coating thickness. Big River Steel notes that coating weights below AZ50 are sold as ASTM A792 55% aluminum-zinc sheet rather than under the GALVALUME name, so a quote that says “Galvalume” without a designation should be checked. For lifespan by coating, see our galvanized vs Galvalume steel roof guide.

Paint systems on roofing coil: PVDF (Kynar 500) vs SMP

The two paint families the suppliers below sell on roofing coil are 70% PVDF fluoropolymer (sold as Kynar 500 or Hylar 5000 resin, in coatings such as Sherwin-Williams Fluropon) and silicone-modified polyester (SMP, such as WeatherXL). Schafer’s 24 gauge coil carries Fluropon at 70% PVDF resin with a 0.9 to 1.1 mil topcoat, and Sheffield’s CoolR system specifies a 0.70 to 0.90 mil topcoat of 70% PVDF over a 0.20 mil primer.

Compare the warranty thresholds, not only the years. The United Steel Supply Fluropon limited warranty (effective January 2020) covers 35 years of film integrity, 30 years of chalk no worse than an ASTM D4214 rating of 8, and 30 years of color change no more than 5 Hunter delta-E units under ASTM D2244. The Western States Cool Tech SMP sample warranty reads 40 years, but allows a chalk rating of 6 and 7 delta-E units on roofs, against 8 and 5 on walls.

Term PVDF example: Fluropon (United Steel Supply) SMP example: Cool Tech SMP (Western States) What it means for a roof
Film integrity (no crack, peel) 35 years from coating date 40 years from installation Both cover adhesion; SMP sample term is longer on paper
Chalk limit ASTM D4214 rating 8, 30 years Rating 8 walls, 6 roofs, 40 years A lower number allows more chalk; the SMP roof limit is looser
Color change limit 5 Hunter delta-E, 30 years 5 delta-E walls, 7 roofs, 40 years 7 units on a roof is a more visible fade than 5
Salt exposure No warranty within 1,500 ft of salt water Salt spray corrosion excluded Coastal jobs need aluminum or a coastal-rated warranty in writing
Cut edges Cut/bare edge corrosion excluded Cut edge corrosion excluded Hem edges; no paint warranty covers them
Transfer Ends on change of building ownership Not stated in sample Ask for the warranty in the owner’s name before release
Claim window 15 days after discovery, written 45 days after discovery, written Diary the deadline in the job file

Paint warranties depend on the coater, the color group and the coil seller, so request the warranty document for the exact coil lot. Sheffield Metals notes, for example, that its Vintage finish carries a 20 year finish warranty from Steelscape, and the United Steel Supply warranty excludes colors that cannot be made with durable pigments. Colors are covered on our white metal roof page.

How many feet are in a coil of metal roofing?

Lineal feet equal coil weight divided by the gauge multiplier times the coil width in feet. A 2,000 lb coil of 24 gauge at 20 inches holds 2,000 / (0.9791 x 1.667) = about 1,226 lineal feet; Drexel Metals’ coil chart shows 1,223 feet for the same coil, a match within 0.3%. Weigh the coil on a scale or read the tag weight, then use this table.

Gauge and coil width lb per lineal ft Lineal ft per 1,000 lb Sq ft per lineal ft Lineal ft in a 2,000 lb coil
24 ga x 16 in 1.31 766 1.333 1,532
24 ga x 20 in 1.63 613 1.667 1,226
24 ga x 22 in 1.80 557 1.833 1,114
24 ga x 24 in 1.96 511 2.000 1,021
26 ga x 16 in 1.04 959 1.333 1,919
26 ga x 20 in 1.30 767 1.667 1,535
26 ga x 24 in 1.56 640 2.000 1,279
29 ga x 40.875 in (R-panel) 2.08 480 3.406 959

Source note: Roofing Brief arithmetic from the Drexel Metals theoretical multipliers (24 ga 0.9791, 26 ga 0.7818, 29 ga 0.6120 lb per sq ft). Drexel calls them medians that vary coil to coil, so use the figures as estimates and confirm against the coil tag.

Measuring what is left on a partly used coil

Drexel’s method needs only a tape: measure the inside diameter (usually 16 or 20 inches), measure the build of metal on one side of the core, and read the chart for that gauge and width. On a 16 inch core, a 24 gauge, 20 inch coil with 1 inch of build holds about 245 lineal feet, 3 inches about 563 feet and 6 inches about 1,223 feet.

Metal build on one side (16 in ID) 24 ga x 20 in: lb 24 ga x 20 in: lineal ft 24 ga x 24 in: lb 24 ga x 24 in: lineal ft
1/2 in 200 122 240 123
1 in 400 245 480 245
2 in 680 416 816 417
3 in 920 563 1,104 564
4 in 1,240 758 1,488 760
6 in 2,000 1,223 2,400 1,226

Source note: Drexel Metals, Brian Partyka, “How much is left on the coil,” metalmag, November/December 2003, theoretical values. The chart predates current paint systems, but steel weight per square foot at a given thickness has not changed.

How much does metal roofing coil cost in 2026?

Listed retail coil prices in October 2026 ran about $1.77 to $2.55 per square foot of coil for 24 gauge painted steel. The Arbor listing for Sheffield Metals Galvalume AZ50 Charcoal Gray, 24 gauge, 20.875 in x 1,000 ft (SKU SHEGMCL2420875C1) was $3,080, and the Arbor listing for Sheffield Vintage, 24 gauge, 20 in x 1,000 ft was $3,330.

Product (seller) Listed price, Oct 2026 Unit Per sq ft of coil Per lb (Roofing Brief est.) Terms
Sheffield Galvalume AZ50 Charcoal Gray, 24 ga, 20.875 in x 1,000 ft (Arbor) $3,080 Per roll $1.77 $1.81 Online marketplace listing
Sheffield Vintage, 24 ga, 20 in x 1,000 ft (Arbor) $3,330 Per roll $2.00 $2.04 Online marketplace listing
Schafer Metal painted steel, 24 ga, 20 in, standard colors $1.87 Per sq ft $1.87 $1.91 In-store pickup; Fluropon PVDF on A792 Galvalume
Schafer Metal, Premium and Textured Rustic Rawhide $2.35 Per sq ft $2.35 $2.40 In-store pickup
Schafer Metal, Premium Cor-Ten AZP and Vintage $2.55 Per sq ft $2.55 $2.60 In-store pickup
Sheffield Metals clearance coils Up to 40% off (inventory page) Per coil, by branch Not listed Not listed Sold as is, final sale, not warrantable

Per-pound figures divide the square foot price by the Drexel 24 gauge multiplier of 0.9791 lb. A 20 inch coil at $1.87 per sq ft is $3.12 per lineal foot, or about $3,117 per 1,000 ft. Sheffield Metals’ 24 vs 26 gauge article (February 2, 2023) gave 24 gauge coil and sheet at $1.20 to $2.15 per sq ft, and says 26 gauge runs about 8% to 15% less.

Minimums move the price of small orders. Mueller requires 500 linear feet for custom Armacoil orders, Western States Metal Roofing sets a $3,000 job minimum for homeowner quotes and 5,000 sq ft on matte colors, and Drexel Metals custom color matches need 5,000 lb of Galvalume or 2,500 lb of aluminum, per the New Tech Machinery supplier review (October 24, 2024). Slitting and cut to length add 7 days and cost at Western States.

Worked example: coil for a 30-square standing seam roof

A 3,000 sq ft (30 square) roof in Sheffield’s 1.5 inch mechanical seam needs 3,000 x 1.25 = 3,750 sq ft of 20 inch coil, and 4,125 sq ft once a 10% waste allowance is added. That is about 2,475 lineal feet and 4,039 lb of 24 gauge, or $7,301 to $8,250 of coil at the $1.77 to $2.00 per sq ft listings above.

Step 1.0″ MS, 17 in panel 1.5″ MS, 16 in panel 1.5″ FF SnapLock, 14.75 in panel
Roof area 3,000 sq ft 3,000 sq ft 3,000 sq ft
Coil width / panel width 20 / 17 = 1.18 20 / 16 = 1.25 20 / 14.75 = 1.36
Coil area before waste 3,529 sq ft 3,750 sq ft 4,068 sq ft
Plus 10% waste (Roofing Brief assumption) 3,882 sq ft 4,125 sq ft 4,475 sq ft
Lineal ft of 20 in coil 2,329 ft 2,475 ft 2,685 ft
Weight at 0.9791 lb per sq ft (24 ga) 3,801 lb 4,039 lb 4,381 lb
Coil cost at $1.77 to $2.00 per sq ft $6,872 to $7,765 $7,301 to $8,250 $7,920 to $8,949
Coil cost per finished sq ft, before waste $2.08 to $2.35 $2.21 to $2.50 $2.40 to $2.71

Sheffield’s cut sheets state that the multiplier excludes waste, so the 10% line is an assumption to replace with your own takeoff; hips, valleys and short panels push it higher. Buying three 1,000 ft rolls at $3,080 covers the 16 inch case with about 525 ft left over, so ask the supplier for a single 2,500 ft run of one lot instead. Trim, clips and sealant are extra; our standing seam metal roof details page lists them.

How much is a 24 ton steel coil worth?

A 24 short ton (48,000 lb) coil of plain hot-rolled steel was worth about $29,280 at Nucor’s posted consumer spot price of $1,220 per short ton on September 28, 2026, as reported by GMK Center. That is $0.61 per lb, against roughly $1.81 to $2.60 per lb for painted roofing coil at retail, because coating, paint, slitting and distribution are all added on top.

Mills publish those add-ons as “extras” per hundredweight (CWT, 100 lb). Big River Steel’s Galvalume extras sheet, effective July 4, 2026, adds $13.50 per CWT for AZ50 and $15.00 for AZ55 at 0.0220 to 0.0249 inch minimum thickness, plus a width and thickness extra, and $1.00 per CWT when a line item is under 40 tons. The sheet lists extras only; the base price is quoted separately.

Extra (Big River Steel, eff. 7/4/2026) 24 ga range (0.0220 to 0.0249 in min) 26 ga range (0.0180 to 0.0199 in min) On a 48,000 lb (480 CWT) coil, 24 ga On a 48,000 lb coil, 26 ga
Width and thickness, 48 to 60 in $1.50 per CWT $5.50 per CWT (0.0170 to 0.0189 row) $720 $2,640
Width and thickness, 36 to 41.99 in $4.50 per CWT $8.50 per CWT $2,160 $4,080
AZ50 coating $13.50 per CWT $16.75 per CWT $6,480 $8,040
AZ55 coating $15.00 per CWT $18.50 per CWT $7,200 $8,880
Clear acrylic (bare AZ55 product) $1.50 per CWT $1.50 per CWT $720 $720
Line item under 40 tons $1.00 per CWT $1.00 per CWT $480 $480

The table shows why thin gauges cost more per pound: at 48 inches wide, AZ50 extras total $15.00 per CWT at 24 gauge and $22.25 at 26 gauge, which partly offsets 26 gauge’s 20% lower weight. Steel, aluminum and copper imports sit under a 50% Section 232 tariff in 2026, covered in our 2026 metal roofing tariff report.

Who makes and sells metal roofing coil?

Painted roofing coil is sold through coaters and distributors such as those below. The New Tech Machinery supplier review (Rick Zand, October 24, 2024) names 16, including Sheffield Metals, Berridge, Drexel Metals (a Carlisle company), Coated Metals Group, McElroy Metal, PAC-CLAD Petersen and Western States Metal Roofing. Branch locations below answer most “metal roofing coil near me” searches.

Supplier Coil substrates and gauges Paint systems Widths or minimums Locations (per source) Source
Sheffield Metals Galvalume 22, 24, 26 ga; ZAM 90 24 ga; aluminum .032 to .063 Sherwin-Williams Fluropon PVDF; SMP 16, 20, 22, 24 in finished; “virtually no minimum” on standard colors Sheffield Village OH, Acworth GA, Arlington TX, Denver CO, Plant City FL, La Mirada CA, East Chicago Sheffield coil page; inventory page
Berridge Manufacturing 24 ga Galvalume standard, 22 ga optional; .032 and .040 aluminum Kynar 500 / Hylar 5000; acrylic-coated Galvalume 14, 16, 21, 24 in nominal (13 7/8 to 23 7/8 in actual) San Antonio HQ plus branches incl. Tampa, Atlanta, Chicago, Denver, Phoenix, Fontana Berridge coil page; NTM review
Drexel Metals AZ50 to be painted; Drexlume AZ55 acrylic; aluminum, zinc, copper Fluropon (Kynar 500) Custom color: 5,000 lb Galvalume, 2,500 lb aluminum 13 locations from Bonney Lake WA to Tampa FL NTM review
Coated Metals Group G90 galvanized and AZ50 Galvalume Durapon70 PVDF; XT40S SMP Copper coil 15, 20, 24 in Verona WI HQ; Denver, Phoenix, Nashville, Charlotte and others NTM review
Western States Metal Roofing Galvalume, G90, aluminum, copper, stainless PVDF (100+ colors) and SMP (10 standard) 20, 24, 48 in; 1,000 to 1,500 lineal ft coils Phoenix and Tucson AZ, Dallas/Ft. Worth TX, Spokane Valley WA Western States coil page
Mueller (Armacoil) 26, 24, 22 ga; minimum AZ50 per ASTM A792 Not specified on page Custom coil minimum 500 lineal ft Texas and Florida availability Mueller coil page
Englert Galvalume-Plus mill finish and painted coil In-house paint line, 26 painted colors Not listed Not listed on coil page Englert coil page

Company facts in the table are as each source states them; branch lists change, so call the branch before driving. Fabral, which also sells metal panels, has been owned by McElroy Metal since February 2026. If you are deciding between running your own coil and buying formed panels, compare the machine side in our metal roofing machine cost and ROI guide.

How to buy metal roofing coil for a roll former, step by step

Width, coil lot and warranty paperwork are the three items a coil purchase order must pin down before price. These eight steps follow the order a supplier quote is built in, with the number to check at each step, from the 20 inch coil width to the 15 day claim window.

Portable roll former on a trailer feeding a charcoal steel coil into a long standing seam roof panel on a job site
New Tech Machinery’s SSQ II takes 15 to 30 inch coil up to 32 inches outside diameter on its overhead reel rack and forms 12 to 24 inch panels.
  1. Pick the profile first, then read its cut sheet for coil width: 20 inches for Sheffield’s 1.0 inch mechanical seam (17 inch panel), 1.5 inch mechanical seam (16 inch) and 1.5 inch FF SnapLock (14.75 inch).
  2. Confirm the machine takes that coil: the NTM SSQ II range is 15 to 30 inches, 28 to 22 gauge steel, and 50 ksi maximum for 24 to 22 gauge; the overhead reel rack holds coil up to 32 inches outside diameter and the free standing decoiler up to 45 inches.
  3. Specify thickness as a minimum in inches (0.023 in for 24 gauge per Sheffield), plus the steel grade, on the purchase order.
  4. Name the coating designation: AZ50 under paint, AZ55 for bare acrylic-coated coil, or G90 galvanized, and ask for the mill test certificate.
  5. Name the paint system and get the warranty document for that color group: film, chalk rating and delta-E limits, salt-water distance (1,500 ft in the United Steel Supply Fluropon warranty) and whether it transfers to the owner.
  6. Order the whole roof from one coil lot; Western States marks batch-sensitive colors “Do not mix batches or coil lots,” and Sheffield warns against mixing SMP and PVDF batches.
  7. Inspect on delivery against the order (width, thickness, color, film) and photograph any defect with a coil sample; the United Steel Supply warranty requires a written claim within 15 days of discovery.
  8. Store coils dry and ventilated, banded eye to the sky, and remove the strippable film before installation and before sun exposure, per Berridge.

Track footage as you run panels. Weigh the coil or measure the metal build and read the Drexel chart before the next job, so a 1,000 ft roof is not started on a coil with 600 ft left. Tools for cutting and hemming are in our tools for metal roofing kit list.

Which metal roofing coil should you buy?

Use the job conditions to set substrate, gauge and paint before comparing prices. Each row is a decision rule built from the supplier documents above; the paint warranty for the specific coil lot (for example 35 years film integrity on Fluropon, 40 years on Cool Tech SMP) overrides any row here.

If your job is… Buy this coil Why (source)
Residential standing seam on an engineered SMI profile 24 ga AZ50 Galvalume, 20 in, PVDF Sheffield cut sheets require 24 ga minimum; Fluropon warranty 35/30/30 years
High wind, hail or long panel runs 22 ga Galvalume at the same width Sheffield and Berridge offer 22 ga; Sheffield says heavier coil can pair with narrower panels
Within 1,500 ft of salt water Painted aluminum (.032 or .040 in) with a coastal warranty in writing United Steel Supply Fluropon warranty excludes that zone on steel
Bare metal look, lowest coil cost AZ55 acrylic-coated Galvalume (such as Drexel Drexlume) AZ55 carries 0.55 oz coating; acrylic is a $1.50 per CWT mill extra
Outbuilding with exposed fastener panels 26 or 29 ga at 40.875 to 48 in, SMP Drexel R-panel widths; Western States 48 in coil and SMP colors
Matte or custom color Order early, meet the minimum Western States 5,000 sq ft matte minimum; Drexel 5,000 lb custom
Small repair or matching an old roof Clearance or remnant coil, checked for color and lot Sheffield clearance up to 40% off, but as is and not warrantable

What goes wrong with metal roofs made from coil?

One problem every metal roof buyer should ask about is oil canning, which the Metal Construction Association defines as visible waviness in the flat areas of metal panels, technically elastic buckling or stress wrinkling. MCA says many uncontrollable factors contribute, from coil production through installation, and that careful production, material selection, panel design and installation minimize it.

Problem Coil-side cause Coil-side fix Source
Oil canning (waviness in flats) Many factors from coil production to installation (MCA) Heavier gauge coil with a narrower panel; striation rollers on the machine MCA bulletin; Sheffield 1.5 in MS cut sheet; NTM SSQ II brochure
Color mismatch between panels Mixed coil lots or paint batches One lot per roof; never mix SMP and PVDF Western States; Sheffield inventory page
Rust at panel ends and cuts Exposed steel at cut edges Hem cut edges; paint warranties exclude cut-edge corrosion United Steel Supply and Western States warranties
Paint claim denied Salt exposure, standing water in stored coils, late claim Store dry, file within 15 to 45 days, check salt distance United Steel Supply and Western States warranties
Short order mid-job Using panel width instead of coil width Multiply roof area by coil width / panel width, then add waste Sheffield cut sheets

New Tech Machinery ships the SSQ II with a choice of one pair of bead, pencil, striation or V-Rib rollers, so flat-pan texture is set at the machine, not in the coil. The trade-offs are covered in our striated vs flat metal panels guide. Aluminum gutter coil is a different product (3105 alloy, .027 to .032 in); see our gutter coil guide.

Frequently asked questions

How much is a coil of roofing metal?

A 1,000 ft coil of 24 gauge painted steel at about 20 inches wide was listed at $3,080 to $3,330 in October 2026 on the Arbor marketplace (Sheffield Metals AZ50 Charcoal Gray and Vintage), about $1.77 to $2.00 per sq ft. Schafer Metal listed 20 inch, 24 gauge PVDF coil at $1.87 per sq ft for standard colors and up to $2.55 for premium finishes. Listings change, so get a dated quote.

How much money is a 24 ton steel coil worth?

At Nucor’s hot-rolled consumer spot price of $1,220 per short ton (September 28, 2026, reported by GMK Center), a 24 ton (48,000 lb) plain hot-rolled coil is worth about $29,280. A Galvalume roofing coil costs more: Big River Steel’s July 2026 extras add $13.50 to $15.00 per CWT for AZ50 or AZ55 coating at 24 gauge, about $6,480 to $7,200 on 48,000 lb, before paint.

What is a roofing coil?

A roofing coil is a continuous strip of metallic-coated, usually prepainted steel or aluminum wound on a 16, 20 or 24 inch core and fed into a roll former to make panels of any length. Residential standing seam coil is typically 24 gauge AZ50 Galvalume slit to 16, 20, 22 or 24 inches from 40 to 48 inch master coils, per Sheffield Metals and Drexel Metals.

What is the biggest problem with metal roofs?

No industry body ranks metal roof problems, but oil canning, visible waviness in flat panel areas, has its own Metal Construction Association technical bulletin, which calls it elastic buckling with many uncontrollable causes. Other common failures trace to the coil order: mixed coil lots that mismatch in color, unhemmed cut edges that rust (excluded from paint warranties) and steel coil used within 1,500 ft of salt water, where the Fluropon warranty reviewed here does not apply.

What size coil do I need for standing seam?

All three Sheffield Metals standing seam profiles reviewed here run on 20 inch coil: Sheffield makes a 17 inch panel from it in its 1.0 inch mechanical seam, 16 inches in its 1.5 inch mechanical seam and 14.75 inches in its 1.5 inch FF SnapLock. Divide coil width by panel width (1.18 to 1.36) and multiply by roof area to get square feet of coil before waste.

How many feet are in a coil of metal roofing?

Standard roofing coils hold 1,000 to 1,500 lineal feet, per Western States Metal Roofing. To check a coil, divide its weight by the gauge multiplier times width in feet: a 2,000 lb, 24 gauge, 20 inch coil holds about 1,226 ft using Drexel Metals’ 0.9791 lb per sq ft multiplier, and Drexel’s chart shows 1,223 ft.

Where can I buy metal roofing coil near me?

Distributors with branch pickup include Sheffield Metals (Ohio, Georgia, Texas, Colorado, Florida, California, Indiana), Berridge (San Antonio plus branches such as Atlanta, Chicago, Denver and Phoenix), Western States Metal Roofing (Phoenix, Tucson, Dallas/Ft. Worth, Spokane Valley) and Coated Metals Group (Wisconsin, Colorado, Arizona and others). Minimums range from about 500 lineal ft (Mueller custom coil) to 5,000 lb for custom colors (Drexel).