By The Roofing Brief Team | Last reviewed: October 2026
Asphalt shingle dimensions come in two classic sizes and several newer ones: a standard 3-tab is 12 x 36 inches laid at a 5-inch exposure, and a metric architectural shingle is 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 inches laid at 5 5/8 inches. Current data sheets from GAF, Owens Corning, CertainTeed, IKO, TAMKO, Atlas and Malarkey add five more size families, from IKO’s 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 inch shingle to Atlas’s 14 x 42 inch HP42 shingle.
This page is the dimensions reference: length, height, exposure, headlap, nailing zone and the coverage arithmetic behind each one, with every cell tied to the manufacturer’s current document. Bundle counts by type have their own guide on how many shingles are in a bundle. What makes a shingle laminated, and how it differs from a 3-tab, is covered in our laminate shingles guide.
Key numbers at a glance
The figures most people searching shingle size need are the two standard sizes, the exposure range, the headlap minimum and whether thickness is published at all. Each row below comes from a current manufacturer document checked in October 2026; sizes are nominal or approximate as the maker states.
| Figure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Standard English 3-tab size | 12 x 36 in., 5 in. exposure, 80 pieces per square | Owens Corning Supreme; CertainTeed XT 25 TDS |
| Standard metric size | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 in., 5 5/8 in. exposure, 64 pieces covering 98.4 sq ft | GAF HDZ data sheet; OC Duration; TAMKO Heritage data sheet |
| Largest standard laminate in this table | 14 x 42 in., 6 in. exposure (Atlas Pinnacle Pristine) | Atlas data sheet |
| Exposure range across 24 shingles | 4 in. (CertainTeed Presidential) to 8 in. (CertainTeed Grand Manor) | Presidential TDS; Grand Manor TDS |
| Minimum headlap | 2 in., the triple-coverage zone per the ASTM definition | CertainTeed SAM 17th ed., glossary |
| Shingle thickness | Not published on any of the 24 data sheets and spec pages reviewed | Roofing Brief review of the sources in this table, October 2026 |
Asphalt shingle dimensions by brand: the data-sheet table
The table below lists size, exposure, pieces and bundles per square, weight, nailing zone and headlap for 24 current asphalt shingles from seven manufacturers. Every value is copied from the linked data sheet, technical data sheet or product specification page. Where a maker does not print a figure, the cell says so rather than filling in an estimate.
| Brand and product | Type | Size, height x length (in.) | Exposure (in.) | Pieces per square | Bundles per square | Weight per square | Nailing zone (as published) | Headlap (in.), derived | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAF Timberline HDZ | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 (337 x 1,000 mm), approx. | 5 5/8 (143 mm) | 64 | 3 | Not published | StrikeZone, described as “the industry’s largest nailing zone”; width not stated | 2 | GAF data sheet RESGN467HDZ-0526 |
| GAF Timberline NS | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8, nominal | 5 5/8 (144 mm) | 64 | 3 | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | GAF Timberline NS product page specifications |
| GAF Royal Sovereign (English size) | 3-tab | 12 x 36, approx. | 5 | 79 | 3 | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | GAF Royal Sovereign English data sheet (10/18/2016) |
| GAF Royal Sovereign (metric size) | 3-tab | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8, approx. | 5 5/8 | 64 | 3 | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | GAF Royal Sovereign metric data sheet |
| GAF Grand Sequoia | Designer laminated | 17 x 40 (432 x 1,016 mm), approx.; product page lists 17 1/4 x 40 | 5 (127 mm) | 72 | 5 | Not published | Width not stated | 7 | GAF data sheet RESGN467GS-0426; GAF product page |
| GAF Camelot II | Designer laminated | 17 x 34 1/2 (432 x 876 mm), approx. | 7 1/2 (190.5 mm) | 56 | 4 | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | GAF data sheet RESGN467CII-0426 |
| Owens Corning TruDefinition Duration | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8, nominal | 5 5/8 | 64 | 3 | Not published | SureNail Technology: fabric strip with Triple Layer Protection in the nailing zone; width not stated | 2 | Owens Corning Duration product page |
| Owens Corning Oakridge | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8, nominal | 5 5/8 | 64 | 3 | Not published | Full double layer in the nailing zone; width not stated | 2 | Owens Corning Oakridge product page |
| Owens Corning Supreme | 3-tab | 12 x 36, nominal | 5 | 80 | 3 | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | Owens Corning Supreme product page |
| CertainTeed Landmark | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 38 3/4 | 5 5/8 | 65 | 3 | 211 to 225 lb, by plant | NailTrak, 1 1/2 in. wide | 2 | CertainTeed Landmark TDS (2408); Shingle Applicator’s Manual, 17th ed., ch. 13 |
| CertainTeed Landmark PRO | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 38 3/4 | 5 5/8 | 66 (approx.) | 3 | 231 to 240 lb, by plant | NailTrak, 1 1/2 in. wide | 2 | CertainTeed Landmark PRO TDS (2310); SAM 17th ed., ch. 13 |
| CertainTeed XT 25 | 3-tab | 12 x 36 (English only) | 5 | 80 | 3 | 190 to 203 lb (approx.) | Width not stated | 2 | CertainTeed XT 25 TDS (2105); Roofing Selection Guide (2606) |
| CertainTeed Presidential Shake | Three-piece laminated | 14 1/4 x 40 | 4 | 90 | 5 | 350 lb (approx.) | Width not stated in documents checked | 6 1/4 | Presidential Shake TDS (2504); Selection Guide (2606) |
| CertainTeed Presidential Shake TL | Three-piece laminated | 14 1/4 x 40 | 4 | 90 | 6 | 468 lb (approx.) | Width not stated in documents checked | 6 1/4 | Presidential Shake TL TDS (2504); Selection Guide (2606) |
| CertainTeed Grand Manor | Designer laminated | 18 x 36 | 8 | 50 | 5 | 418 lb (approx.) per TDS; 430 lb per SAM 17th ed. | Width not stated in documents checked | 2 | Grand Manor TDS (2308); Selection Guide (2606); SAM 17th ed. |
| IKO Cambridge | Laminated | 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 (349 x 1,038 mm) | 5 7/8 (149 mm) | 60 (20 per bundle) | 3 | Not published | Marked nail line; width not stated | 2 | IKO Cambridge technical data sheet (10/2026) |
| IKO Dynasty | Laminated | 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 (349 x 1,038 mm) | 5 7/8 (149 mm) | 60 (20 per bundle) | 3 | Not published | ArmourZone, 1 1/4 in. | 2 | IKO Dynasty technical data sheet (10/2026) |
| IKO Marathon Plus AR | 3-tab | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 (336 x 1,000 mm) | 5 5/8 (143 mm) | 65 | Not stated (21 per bundle, 32.3 sq ft per bundle) | Not published | Width not stated | 2 | IKO Marathon Plus AR product page |
| TAMKO Heritage | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 | 5 5/8 | 64 | 3 (one bundle of 20, two of 22) | Not published | Marked nail line; width not stated | 2 | TAMKO Heritage data sheet, Joplin plant, Rev. 01/19/2026 |
| TAMKO Titan XT | Laminated | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 | 5 5/8 | 64 | 3 | Not published | Rapid Fire Zone, 1 1/2 in. expanded nailing zone over a 2 in. polyester reinforcing strip | 2 | TAMKO Titan XT data sheet, Joplin plant, Rev. 11/15/2023 |
| TAMKO Elite Glass-Seal | 3-tab | 12 1/4 x 36 | 5 1/8 | 78 | 3 (26 per bundle) | Not published | Marked nail zone; width not stated | 2 | TAMKO Elite Glass-Seal data sheet, Joplin plant, Rev. 01/19/2026 |
| Atlas Pinnacle Pristine | Laminated (HP42) | 14 x 42 (355.6 x 1,066.8 mm) | 6 (152.4 mm) | Not published (18 to 20 per bundle) | Not published | Not published | Width not stated on data sheet | 2 | Atlas Pinnacle Pristine product data sheet |
| Malarkey Highlander | Laminated, polymer modified | 13 1/4 x 38 7/8 (337 mm x 0.99 m) | 5 5/8 (143 mm) | 66 | 3 | Not published | The Zone; Malarkey says up to 2x the nailing area of standard shingles; width not stated | 2 | Malarkey Highlander TDS (effective 02/26); Product Data Guide Rev. 08/26 |
| Malarkey Vista | Laminated, polymer modified | 13 1/4 x 38 7/8 (337 mm x 0.99 m) | 5 5/8 (143 mm) | 66 | 3 | Not published | The Zone; width not stated | 2 | Malarkey Vista TDS (effective 02/26) |
How to read it: size is shown height (up the roof) by length (along the eave), the way GAF, Owens Corning, CertainTeed and TAMKO print it. The headlap column is derived, not published: it is the shingle height minus two exposures, which is the geometry of the ASTM definition quoted in CertainTeed’s Shingle Applicator’s Manual. Weight is printed only by CertainTeed among these makers. For weights backed out of environmental product declarations for GAF, Owens Corning, Malarkey and Atlas, see our shingle weight per square by brand table.
Products checked but left out: the Owens Corning Berkshire page on Owens Corning’s US site redirected to the general shingle listing in October 2026, so no current spec could be sourced. TAMKO prints a separate data sheet for each plant; the Joplin sheets are used here, and figures for other plants can differ.
The seven shingle size families on the market
Most guides describe only two shingle sizes, but the 24 data sheets above fall into seven families. Five of them are standard roofing sizes with exposures between 5 and 6 inches; the seventh is a group of designer shingles with their own geometry. Knowing the family matters most when a roof needs repair, because shingles from different families do not nest together cleanly.
| Size family | Height x length (in.) | Exposure (in.) | Current products using it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| English 3-tab | 12 x 36 | 5 | GAF Royal Sovereign (English), Owens Corning Supreme, CertainTeed XT 25 | GAF; OC; CertainTeed |
| TAMKO 3-tab | 12 1/4 x 36 | 5 1/8 | TAMKO Elite Glass-Seal | TAMKO data sheet |
| Metric | 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 | 5 5/8 | GAF Timberline HDZ and NS, GAF Royal Sovereign (metric), Owens Corning Duration and Oakridge, TAMKO Heritage and Titan XT, IKO Marathon Plus AR | GAF; OC; TAMKO; IKO |
| Short metric | 13 1/4 x 38 3/4 or 38 7/8 | 5 5/8 | CertainTeed Landmark and Landmark PRO (38 3/4), Malarkey Highlander and Vista (38 7/8) | CertainTeed; Malarkey |
| IKO oversize | 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 | 5 7/8 | IKO Cambridge, IKO Dynasty | IKO data sheets |
| Atlas HP42 | 14 x 42 | 6 | Atlas Pinnacle Pristine | Atlas data sheet |
| Designer sizes | 14 1/4 x 40, 17 x 34 1/2, 17 x 40, 18 x 36 | 4 to 8 | CertainTeed Presidential Shake and TL, GAF Camelot II, GAF Grand Sequoia, CertainTeed Grand Manor | CertainTeed; GAF |
IKO describes the history this way on its own shingle-dimensions page: strip shingles were traditionally 12 x 36 inches, and IKO was among the first to introduce the metric shingle, 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 inches, where 39 3/8 inches equals one meter. IKO’s current Cambridge and Dynasty data sheets list a third size, 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 inches, which IKO markets as True Square Advantage because three bundles cover a full 100 square feet.
English vs metric shingles: the difference and why it matters for repairs
An English (or imperial) shingle is 12 x 36 inches with a 5-inch exposure; a metric shingle is 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 inches with a 5 5/8-inch exposure. CertainTeed’s Shingle Applicator’s Manual (17th edition) puts the metric shingle at about 20 percent bigger. The two sizes can share a roof only with extra cutting, because neither the courses nor the joints line up.
The size gap shows up three ways on a real roof. First, exposure: a 5-inch English course under a 5 5/8-inch metric course leaves the rows 5/8 inch out of step every course. Second, length: a 36-inch shingle cannot reproduce the joint offsets of a 39 3/8-inch shingle, so the cutouts and joints wander. Third, headlap still has to stay at 2 inches or more, which limits how far a mismatched shingle can be slid up or down to hide the difference.
How to identify the shingle size on an existing roof
Measuring two dimensions on the roof (exposure and length) is usually enough to place a shingle in one of the seven families. Take the measurements on a section with intact courses, away from hips and valleys where shingles are cut.
- Measure the exposure: the distance from the bottom edge of one course to the bottom edge of the next. Measure three courses and divide by three to average out installer variation.
- Measure the length: find two vertical joints in the same course (on a laminate, the seam between two full shingles, not a tab cutout) and measure between them.
- Note the type: 3-tab shingles show evenly spaced slots; laminated shingles show a random, layered pattern.
- Match exposure and length to the size-family table. A 5 in. exposure with 36 in. joints is English; 5 5/8 in. with about 39 in. joints is metric or short metric; 5 7/8 in. with about 41 in. joints is IKO’s oversize family.
- Check for a leftover bundle wrapper in the attic or garage. It names the product line and plant, which settles the question.
- Take a sample shingle or a photo with a tape measure to the supplier and match the product line, not just the color name.
If you are not yet sure the roof is asphalt at all, start with our guide on how to identify what kind of roof you have.
English over metric: the 5/8-inch drift
When English shingles are laid over an old metric roof, each 5-inch course falls 5/8 inch behind the 5 5/8-inch course beneath it. After eight English courses (40 inches of roof) the new shingles have covered only about seven metric courses (39 3/8 inches), and the gap has grown large enough that nails would land in the wrong place. That is Roofing Brief arithmetic from the published exposures.
CertainTeed’s manual addresses this directly in its English-over-metric method: when the top edge of an English shingle overlaps the bottom edge of a metric course by less than 1 1/2 inches, cut that metric shingle back about 2 inches so the new shingle nests flat, and repeat the cutback at every eighth and ninth metric course up the roof. Whether a roof-over is allowed at all depends on the existing layers and local code; our guide to overlay vs tear-off covers that decision.
Coverage arithmetic: why a metric square covers 98.4 square feet
A roofing square is 100 square feet, but a bundle-based “square” of metric shingles usually covers 98.4. The reason is simple multiplication: pieces per square times exposure times length gives the weather surface in square inches, and 64 metric shingles at 5 5/8 x 39 3/8 inches add up to 14,175 square inches, or 98.4 square feet. Owens Corning, TAMKO and CertainTeed (for Landmark) print that 98.4 figure on their own documents.
Every manufacturer’s published coverage in this table reconciles with its own dimensions to within about 1 percent, which is a useful check when a dealer quote or an online calculator assumes 100 square feet. The arithmetic below uses only the pieces, exposure and length printed on each data sheet.
| Product | Pieces x exposure x length | Square inches | Square feet per “square” | Coverage the maker publishes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAF Timberline HDZ, OC Duration, TAMKO Heritage | 64 x 5 5/8 x 39 3/8 | 14,175 | 98.4 | 98.4 sq ft (OC, TAMKO) |
| CertainTeed Landmark | 65 x 5 5/8 x 38 3/4 | 14,168 | 98.4 | 98.4 sq ft |
| CertainTeed Landmark PRO | 66 x 5 5/8 x 38 3/4 | 14,386 | 99.9 | 100 sq ft |
| Malarkey Highlander and Vista | 66 x 5 5/8 x 38 7/8 | 14,432 | 100.2 | Sold as a full square |
| IKO Cambridge and Dynasty | 60 x 5 7/8 x 40 7/8 | 14,408 | 100.1 | 100 sq ft per three bundles |
| IKO Marathon Plus AR | 65 x 5 5/8 x 39 3/8 | 14,396 | 100.0 | 32.3 sq ft per 21-piece bundle |
| GAF Royal Sovereign (English) | 79 x 5 x 36 | 14,220 | 98.8 | Not stated |
| OC Supreme, CertainTeed XT 25 | 80 x 5 x 36 | 14,400 | 100.0 | 100 sq ft (OC) |
| TAMKO Elite Glass-Seal | 78 x 5 1/8 x 36 | 14,391 | 99.9 | 100 sq ft |
| GAF Grand Sequoia | 72 x 5 x 40 | 14,400 | 100.0 | Not stated |
| GAF Camelot II | 56 x 7 1/2 x 34 1/2 | 14,490 | 100.6 | Not stated |
| CertainTeed Presidential Shake and TL | 90 x 4 x 40 | 14,400 | 100.0 | Not stated |
| CertainTeed Grand Manor | 50 x 8 x 36 | 14,400 | 100.0 | Not stated |
The practical effect is small on one square and noticeable on a whole roof. A 3,000 square foot roof needs 30 squares at 100 square feet each, but 3,000 / 98.4 = 30.5 sales squares of a 98.4-foot shingle, before any waste factor. That is Roofing Brief arithmetic; our explainer on how big a roofing square is covers waste factors and measuring.
Starter strip and hip and ridge dimensions
Starter strips are sold by linear feet per bundle, and hip and ridge caps by linear feet per bundle at a set exposure. The published coverage on each product follows directly from its dimensions: starter coverage is pieces times length divided by 12, and ridge coverage is pieces times exposure divided by 12. The table checks each published figure against that arithmetic.
| Accessory | Published size | Pieces per bundle | Published coverage per bundle | Arithmetic check | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAF Pro-Start starter | Full sheet 13 1/4 x 38 in. (330 x 965 mm); half sheet 6.5 x 38 in. | 19 full sheets (38 pieces) | Approx. 120.33 lin ft | 38 x 38 in. / 12 = 120.33 ft | GAF RESGN546-0325 |
| Owens Corning Starter Strip Plus | 15 1/2 x 39 3/8 in.; piece 7 3/4 x 39 3/8 in. | 16 shingles (32 pieces) | Approx. 105 lin ft | 32 x 39 3/8 in. / 12 = 105 ft | OC product page |
| IKO Leading Edge Plus starter | 40 7/8 x 7 7/8 in. (1,038 x 200 mm) | 16 shingles (32 strips) | 109 lin ft | 32 x 40 7/8 in. / 12 = 109 ft | IKO product page |
| TAMKO Shingle Starter | 7 x 36 in. | 34 | 102 lin ft | 34 x 36 in. / 12 = 102 ft | TAMKO data sheet, Rev. 10/01/2021 |
| Malarkey Smart Start starter | 16 3/8 x 38 1/4 in. full; 8 3/16 in. per piece | 18 full (36 pieces) | 114 ft 9 in. | 36 x 38 1/4 in. / 12 = 114.75 ft | Malarkey Product Data Guide Rev. 08/26 |
| GAF TimberTex hip and ridge | 12 in. (305 mm) width, 8 in. (203 mm) exposure | 30 double-layer caps | 20 lin ft (5 bundles per 100 lin ft) | 30 x 8 in. / 12 = 20 ft | GAF RESHR102-1025 |
| Owens Corning DecoRidge | 8 in. exposure | 30 per carton | 20 lin ft per carton | 30 x 8 in. / 12 = 20 ft | OC product page |
| CertainTeed Shadow Ridge | Not stated in the selection guide | 24 | 30 lin ft | Not checkable without exposure | CertainTeed Selection Guide (2606) |
| IKO Hip and Ridge | 36 x 13 1/4 in. (914 x 337 mm) | 63 (21 x 3) | 29.53 lin ft per package | Exposure not stated | IKO product page |
| TAMKO 12 1/4 x 12 Hip and Ridge | 12 1/4 x 36 in., perforated into three 12 1/4 x 12 in. pieces | Not stated | 234 pieces per 100 lin ft | 234 x 5 1/8 in. / 12 = 99.9 ft | TAMKO data sheet, Rev. 04/28/2023 |
| Malarkey 10 in. RidgeFlex | Scored strip 13 1/4 in. tall x 9 7/8 in. wide, 5 5/8 in. exposure | 22 shingles (88 units) | 41 ft 3 in. | 88 x 5 5/8 in. / 12 = 41.25 ft | Malarkey Product Data Guide Rev. 08/26 |
CertainTeed’s selection guide says its SwiftStart metric starter meets the minimum 2-inch headlap requirement for metric shingles, so starter choice should follow the field shingle’s size. More on starter choices is in our starter shingles guide.
How thick are asphalt shingles?
Manufacturers do not publish asphalt shingle thickness. None of the 24 data sheets and spec pages in the table above lists a thickness, and the standards they cite (ASTM D3462, D3018, D3161 and D7158) appear as performance and product standards, not as a stated thickness. What the makers do publish is length, height, exposure and, for CertainTeed, weight per square.
For a rough figure, third-party reference site Dimensions.com lists a 3-tab shingle at about 0.19 inch. A laminated shingle is two layers bonded together, so it is thicker where the layers overlap and single-layer above the bond line. Weight per square is the better published proxy for heft: CertainTeed’s XT 25 3-tab is listed at 190 to 203 pounds per square and its Presidential Shake TL at 468 pounds.
How far should shingles overhang the eave and rake?
CertainTeed’s Shingle Applicator’s Manual (17th edition) sets the overhang at 1/2 inch past the eaves and rakes where drip edge is installed and 3/4 inch where it is not, and says the overhang should not exceed 1 inch. Overhang rules differ between manufacturers, so the instructions printed on the bundle wrapper of the shingle being installed take precedence.
The overhang interacts with dimensions in one way that matters on repairs: a starter or first course cut from a shorter English shingle will not give the same edge line as a metric starter, so the overhang can change where old and new materials meet. Our drip edge guide covers the metal side of the eave detail.
Which shingle size should you plan around?
For a repair, the existing roof decides the size: match exposure first, then length, then the exact product line. For a new roof, size mainly affects coverage per square and how many pieces the crew handles. The table maps common situations to what to match, based on the data sheets above.
| Your situation | What to match or plan around | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Replacing a few blown-off shingles | Exposure first, then length, then the product line | A different exposure can leave a visible step or cover the sealant line; a different length can break the joint offset pattern |
| Roof has 5 in. courses and 36 in. shingles | An English-size 3-tab (12 x 36 in.) | GAF Royal Sovereign (English), OC Supreme and CertainTeed XT 25 are still listed in this size |
| Roof has 5 5/8 in. courses and about 39 in. shingles | A metric or short-metric laminate | Most current laminates share the 5 5/8 in. exposure, but lengths differ by up to 5/8 in. |
| Roof has 5 7/8 in. courses | IKO Cambridge or Dynasty | Only IKO’s 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 in. shingle uses this exposure among the products in this table |
| Ordering for a new roof | The maker’s published coverage per square | A metric 64-piece square covers 98.4 sq ft, not 100 |
| Laying English shingles over an old metric roof | The manufacturer’s English-over-metric method | Courses drift 5/8 in. each; CertainTeed’s manual describes cutting back every eighth and ninth metric course |
Where the manufacturer documents disagree
Three conflicts turned up while building this table, and each is worth checking against the bundle in hand. Data sheets are revised by plant and by year, and a product page and a PDF from the same maker do not always carry the same number.
- GAF Grand Sequoia: the data sheet (RESGN467GS-0426) gives 17 x 40 inches approximate, while GAF’s product page lists 17 1/4 x 40 inches. Both give a 5-inch exposure and 72 pieces per square.
- CertainTeed Grand Manor: the technical data sheet (2308) lists about 418 pounds per square, while the 17th edition Shingle Applicator’s Manual says 430 pounds per square.
- CertainTeed Landmark vs Landmark PRO: the same 13 1/4 x 38 3/4 inch size and 5 5/8 inch exposure, but Landmark is listed at 65 pieces covering 98.4 square feet and Landmark PRO at about 66 pieces covering 100 square feet.
Frequently asked questions
What are the dimensions of an asphalt shingle?
A standard 3-tab asphalt shingle measures 12 x 36 inches and is laid at a 5-inch exposure. Most architectural shingles sold in the US are metric size, 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 inches at a 5 5/8-inch exposure, per GAF, Owens Corning and TAMKO data sheets. IKO’s Cambridge and Dynasty run 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 inches, and Atlas Pinnacle Pristine runs 14 x 42 inches.
What are the standard sizes of roof shingles?
Current data sheets show seven size families: 12 x 36 inch English 3-tabs, TAMKO’s 12 1/4 x 36 inch 3-tab, 13 1/4 x 39 3/8 inch metric, 13 1/4 x 38 3/4 or 38 7/8 inch CertainTeed and Malarkey laminates, IKO’s 13 3/4 x 40 7/8 inch shingles, Atlas’s 14 x 42 inch HP42 shingle, and designer sizes from 14 1/4 x 40 up to 18 x 36 inches.
How long is a shingle?
An asphalt shingle is 36 inches long if it is an English-size 3-tab and about 39 3/8 inches (one meter) long if it is a metric shingle. Other current lengths are 38 3/4 inches (CertainTeed Landmark), 38 7/8 inches (Malarkey Highlander and Vista), 40 7/8 inches (IKO Cambridge and Dynasty) and 42 inches (Atlas Pinnacle Pristine), per each maker’s data sheet.
What shingle is 40 inches wide?
Several current shingles are about 40 inches long along the eave: GAF Grand Sequoia (40 inches), CertainTeed Presidential Shake and Presidential Shake TL (14 1/4 x 40 inches), and IKO Cambridge and Dynasty (40 7/8 inches). Atlas Pinnacle Pristine is longer at 42 inches. Standard metric shingles are slightly shorter at 39 3/8 inches, per the manufacturers’ data sheets.
How far should a shingle overhang?
CertainTeed’s Shingle Applicator’s Manual (17th edition) calls for the starter and first course to overhang the eaves and rakes by 1/2 inch where drip edge is used and 3/4 inch where it is not, and says the overhang should not exceed 1 inch. Other manufacturers set their own limits on the bundle wrapper, so follow the instructions for the shingle being installed.
How thick are asphalt shingles?
None of the 24 current data sheets and product spec pages reviewed for this guide lists a shingle thickness. Manufacturers publish length, height, exposure and coverage instead. Third-party reference site Dimensions.com lists about 0.19 inch for a 3-tab shingle, and laminated shingles are thicker in the area where two layers are bonded, so use weight per square as the practical heft comparison.
Can you repair a metric shingle roof with English-size shingles?
It can be done, but the courses will not line up. An English shingle lays at 5 inches and a metric shingle at 5 5/8 inches, so each course drifts 5/8 inch, and the 36-inch length will not match a 39 3/8-inch shingle’s joint pattern. For a patch, buy a shingle with the same exposure and length as the roof, ideally the same product line.
Sources
- GAF: Timberline HDZ data sheet RESGN467HDZ-0526; Timberline NS product specifications; Royal Sovereign English data sheet; Royal Sovereign metric data sheet; Grand Sequoia data sheet RESGN467GS-0426; Camelot II data sheet RESGN467CII-0426; Pro-Start sell sheet RESGN546-0325; TimberTex sell sheet RESHR102-1025.
- Owens Corning: TruDefinition Duration, Oakridge, Supreme, Starter Strip Plus and DecoRidge product specification pages.
- CertainTeed: Landmark TDS; Landmark PRO TDS; XT 25 TDS; Presidential Shake TDS; Presidential Shake TL TDS; Grand Manor TDS; Roofing Selection Guide 00-00-253 (2606); Master Craftsman Shingle Applicator’s Manual, 17th edition (2609).
- IKO: Cambridge technical data sheet (10/2026); Dynasty technical data sheet (10/2026); Marathon Plus AR, Leading Edge Plus and Hip and Ridge product pages; IKO shingle dimensions article.
- TAMKO: Heritage, Titan XT and Elite Glass-Seal data sheets (Joplin plant); Shingle Starter and 12 1/4 x 12 Hip and Ridge data sheets.
- Atlas: Pinnacle Pristine product data sheet.
- Malarkey: Highlander TDS; Vista TDS; Product Data Guide Rev. 08/26; Highlander product page.